Bill Bryson: Your New Computer

Bill Bryson’s your new computer is the most effectively written essay this week. He is writing for the majority of people who aren’t tech savvy and are familiar with the frustration and confusion sometimes associated with technology. He satirically writes the directions with lots of technical terms (most not even associated with computers) and inserts lots of previously unmentioned prerequisites for the steps. He focuses on decision points with high consequence that most people would not know how to make. He also lists consequences asterisk points based on impossible logic.

Despite being well written, this essay seems old and behind the times. These days technology is part of everyday life and if you are still struggling processes he describes you need to update your own knowledge. Also, the user manuals ad setup processes have now been tailored for inexperienced users and are practically idiot proof. Maybe the computer companies read this essay and made some changes.

11 Responses to “Bill Bryson: Your New Computer”


  1. 1 automatic coffee maker January 3, 2013 at 7:09 am

    With havin so much written content do you ever run into
    any problems of plagorism or copyright infringement? My website has a lot of unique content I’ve either created myself or outsourced but it appears a lot of it is popping it up all over the web without my authorization. Do you know any methods to help reduce content from being stolen? I’d truly appreciate it.

  2. 2 Discover More Here April 10, 2013 at 4:07 am

    Spot on with this write-up, I really suppose this web site wants much more consideration.

    I’ll in all probability be again to learn rather more, thanks for that info.

  3. 3 home equity loan vs second mortgage May 1, 2013 at 11:34 pm

    Hi there are using WordPress for your site platform?
    I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and set up my own.
    Do you require any coding expertise to make your own blog?
    Any help would be really appreciated!

  4. 4 mortgage cash out refinance May 3, 2013 at 6:28 am

    Do you mind if I quote a couple of your posts as long as
    I provide credit and sources back to your webpage?
    My blog is in the very same area of interest as yours and my users would really benefit from
    a lot of the information you provide here. Please let me know if this okay with you.
    Thanks a lot!

  5. 5 based Website May 7, 2013 at 3:15 am

    What’s up mates, good post and nice arguments commented at this place, I am really enjoying by these.

  6. 6 auto insurance quote arizona May 10, 2013 at 7:11 am

    Overall, if you need more storage capacity, then you should definitely get
    yourself a 6th Generation i – Pod Classic. Once decided on the things to bring, start packing.
    s r CMOS sensor, BIONZ impression processor chip in addition
    to a Sony Grams contact with powerful (10x optical move,
    25-250 mm range) wide-angel mega-zoom (26 mm) help in choosing stunning golf swings quite possibly with low-light circumstances.

  7. 7 reggie May 15, 2013 at 5:14 am

    This slim and light tablet comes with specifications that provides high computing power.

    While you are waiting for the launch of these tablets, you can consider some
    of the other tablets available in the market.
    Aided by the Pills rapidly getting best tablet pc all of the direct device when using the iphone,
    it is really distinct that we should expect to witness it develop worldwide recognition for countless
    years.

  8. 8 remove system care antivirus August 4, 2013 at 8:10 am

    You actually make it seem really easy with your presentation however I to find this topic
    to be actually one thing that I think I might never understand.
    It sort of feels too complex and very extensive for me.
    I’m having a look ahead in your next put up, I’ll attempt
    to get the hold of it!

  9. 9 loan advisor February 23, 2014 at 8:35 pm

    Hmm it appears like your website ate my first
    comment (it was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up
    what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.

    I too am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to the whole thing.
    Do you have any tips and hints for first-time blog writers?
    I’d certainly appreciate it.

  10. 10 Crédit nouveau départ June 24, 2015 at 8:32 am

    I believe this is among the such a lot important info
    for me. And i am glad studying your article. However should remark on some common issues,
    The web site taste is perfect, the articles is actually nice
    : D. Good process, cheers

  11. 11 caulacbogenoa.blogspot.com January 5, 2019 at 12:43 pm

    I’m really loving the theme/design of your blog. Do
    you ever run into any internet browser compatibility problems?
    A small number of my blog audience have complained
    about my website not working correctly in Explorer but looks great
    in Safari. Do you have any solutions to help fix
    this issue?


Leave a comment