Henry Louis Gates, Jr: In the Kitchen

To start, I thought “In the Kitchen” was going to be about something else entirely.  The last thing I was expecting was that it would be about hair and how important it was to Mr. Gates and his family.   This essay made me think differently about conformity.  I had never even though of this as something people did to fit in better.  The extremes that were taken to make your hair look different seem extremely strange to me, but it gave me more insight into the times.

I have to say, this essay was extremely boring to me.  I did learn something new, but it was not something that I could relate to or was interested in.

9 Responses to “Henry Louis Gates, Jr: In the Kitchen”


  1. 1 Will October 2, 2009 at 12:50 pm

    So I’m going to have to agree with you completely on your thoughts of Henry Louis Gates “In the kitchen”. When i first read the piece the last thought in my mind was hair and the processes involved. Also how important it was to have good hair to fit in surprised me. This piece for myself was just above boring and took me way to long to read. We had talked about who we thought his audience might be and i guess its aimed towards everybody. Not for me tho and i think your feeling the same way. Guess the kitchen doors were locked.

  2. 2 Cheapest Captcha Solving Service April 17, 2013 at 12:03 am

    Hi there to every single one, it’s actually a pleasant for me to go to see this web site, it consists of important Information.

  3. 3 Dieta Kopenhaska May 26, 2013 at 9:27 am

    Watercress. These have ranged from wearing wrist splints to using Chinese herbs
    and having acupuncture treatments to eating a raw food dietDieta
    Kopenhaska. Dinner should be the lightest meal, maybe
    some fruit juice, a handful of nuts or sunflower seeds and coffee or green tea.

  4. 4 jual wadah makan emerald September 23, 2017 at 8:20 am

    Thanks in support of sharing such a pleasant opinion,
    article is pleasant, thats why i have read it entirely

  5. 5 lvl.vn November 24, 2018 at 5:07 am

    GONZALEZ. FRY, P. Prefácio. Art. Mais desconcentração. http://lvl.vn/mulheres_ao_vivo_5602719


  1. 1 Personal Development leadership Trackback on October 1, 2022 at 6:11 pm
  2. 2 Sexless Relationship Advice Trackback on November 11, 2022 at 9:51 pm
  3. 3 I luv My boyfriend Trackback on February 8, 2023 at 10:47 am
  4. 4 dedicated proxy server Trackback on February 28, 2023 at 4:06 am

Leave a comment