Writing Environment: Noisy vs Quiet

I can write pretty much anywhere except where there is noise, particularly where there are people talking.  I’m sure this is true for most people, but it really is the only thing that makes a difference for me.

It is just hard for me to hold ideas in a noisy environment.  I will think of something that is worded perfectly in my head, but with external noise I sometimes almost lose it before I can get it out onto paper or my laptop.  This makes the process extremely frustrating because then I have to waste another minute trying to remember exactly what I was going to say.  I guess you could say I either have some form of ADD or just a terrible memory.

In a quiet environment, ideas get onto paper or typed out as soon as I think of them because there are no outside distractions.  This helps me write continuously and actually helps my organization.  My ideas seem to flow better and stay in a more logical order when I can continue writing about something without stopping.  I find that my organization is worse when I write down different ideas and have to go back and string them together.

0 Responses to “Writing Environment: Noisy vs Quiet”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment