Stephen King: Why We Crave Horror Movies

Stephen King’s essay does a good job in explaining why people love horror movies.  The writing is a good example of a cause/affect essay in that he explains how everyone is a little crazy and as a result we use horror movies as an outlet for our insanity and to keep reality in check.  He culminates this theory with his comparison of a horror movie being the “basket of raw meat” thrown to the gators to keep them down.  Apparently as long as people can vent their insanity through watching horror movies, they won’t hack someone up in real life.

As much as I would like to agree with King’s theory, I cannot relate.  I don’t particularly need to watch horror movies to vent my insanity and stifle urges to kill;  I guess my degree of insanity is fairly low.  I will admit I make funny faces in the mirror..  Maybe if I go rent a slasher movie I’ll stop.

3 Responses to “Stephen King: Why We Crave Horror Movies”


  1. 1 tyotashia52 October 30, 2009 at 12:03 am

    haha i love your scarcasium in the last part. very funny.
    i know im the same way. im not a big fan of horror movie either, they scar me to the point i think its going to come after me but i guess thats the point fo a horror movie.

  2. 2 cures for lower back pain May 29, 2013 at 5:25 am

    Right here is the perfect website for everyone who wants to find out about
    this topic. You realize a whole lot its almost hard to argue with you (not that
    I really will need to…HaHa). You certainly put
    a fresh spin on a topic that has been discussed for a long time.
    Wonderful stuff, just great!

  3. 3 goo.gl May 30, 2013 at 4:02 am

    If some one wishes expert view about blogging then
    i propose him/her to pay a quick visit this web site,
    Keep up the nice job.


Leave a comment